
Alpha Brain
Affiliate disclosureWe earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Our scores and rankings follow our published methodology; commissions do not influence them. Read our methodology
Alpha Brain falls short.
Most commercially successful nootropic in the US, at $79 USD/month and backed by two published clinical studies. Caffeine-free formula is a good fit for GCC buyers who avoid stimulants. onnit.com's market list names Bahrain and Oman; shipping to the other GCC states could not be confirmed from the brand's site on 2026-09-29 -- check at checkout. NSF Certified for Sport -- relevant for GCC's large fitness and athletics community. Verify import status with the Saudi Food and Drug Authority (SFDA) in Saudi Arabia, the Ministry of Health and Prevention (MOHAP) in the UAE, or the relevant MOH before ordering.
What it does
Alpha Brain is Onnit's flagship nootropic, first released in 2011 and widely recognised through mainstream US media. It is one of only two nootropic supplements with published clinical trial data on its specific formula, and carries National Sanitation Foundation (NSF) Certified for Sport status -- making it suitable for drug-tested athletes, including competitive sports participants in the GCC. The formula is caffeine-free and is vegetarian but not vegan per the brand's FAQ; capsule shell material not stated (checked 2026-10-07). We have not verified a local product registration with the Saudi Food and Drug Authority (SFDA), the Ministry of Health and Prevention (MOHAP) or the health ministries of other GCC states; where delivery is available it arrives from the US as a personal-use dietary supplement -- check delivery to your country at checkout.
How it works
Alpha Brain uses three proprietary blends -- Onnit Flow Blend, Focus Blend, and Fuel Blend -- containing cholinergics (Alpha-GPC), adaptogens (Bacopa), and amino acids (Tyrosine, Theanine). The label states each blend's total and two individual amounts (Bacopa 100mg, Huperzine A 400mcg): Bacopa, Alpha-GPC (at most 140mg) and L-Tyrosine (at most 650mg) fall short of their clinical doses, and the other blend members cannot be checked individually. The two published studies (Onnit-funded, 2016 and 2021) tested the full formula and showed statistically significant improvements in verbal memory and executive function versus placebo.
What to expect
Day one: subtle focus improvement, particularly noticeable for users who haven't taken cholinergic supplements before. The lack of caffeine means no energy spike -- effects are gentle. At 4-6 weeks: most users report consistent mild improvements in word retrieval and task focus. Onnit's 30-day money-back guarantee covers the first purchase of each product made directly on Onnit.com.
Hero ingredients
- L-TheanineNot stated (share of 650mg blend)
- Huperzine A400mcg
- Vitamin B610mg
- Alpha-GPCNot stated; at most 140mg (240mg blend incl. 100mg Bacopa)
- PhosphatidylserineNot stated (share of 650mg blend)
Who it's for
- Two published clinical studies
- Highest US brand recognition
- Only 2 capsules
Who should skip
- Proprietary blends hide doses
- Subscription cancellation issues
- Verify import status with your local customs -- some GCC states restrict certain supplements
Dosing audit
| Ingredient | Label | Clinical | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bacopa Monnieri (Focus Blend) | 100mg | 300–450mg/day | ✕ Under |
| Alpha-GPC (Focus Blend) | Not stated; at most 140mg (240mg blend incl. 100mg Bacopa) | 300–600mg/day | ✕ Under |
| Huperzine A (Toothed Clubmoss, Focus Blend) | 400mcg | 100–200mcg/day in trials | ✓ Pass |
| L-Tyrosine (Flow Blend) | Not stated; at most 650mg (blend total) | 100–150mg/kg (about 7–10g) in stress trials | ✕ Under |
| L-Theanine (Flow Blend) | Not stated (share of 650mg blend) | 100–200mg/day | ? Unverified |
| Phosphatidylserine (Flow Blend) | Not stated (share of 650mg blend) | 100–300mg/day | ? Unverified |
| Oat Straw Extract (Flow Blend) | Not stated (share of 650mg blend) | 430–1600mg/day in trials | ? Unverified |
| Cat's Claw Bark Extract | 350mg | No reference dose on file | ? Unverified |
| Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine HCl) | 10mg | No reference dose on file | ? Unverified |
| L-Leucine + Pterostilbene (Fuel Blend) | 60mg (blend total) | No reference dose on file | ? Unverified |
Ingredient quality
Number and quality of evidence-graded ingredients. Trademarked extracts and standardized actives raise this score.
Dosing vs. clinical evidence
How many ingredients meet their clinical-trial dose. Underdosing flagship actives is the biggest score deduction.
Formula transparency
Full disclosure of every ingredient at its exact dose. Proprietary blends are scored as opaque.
Value for money
Cost per month relative to per-serving clinical doses delivered. Cheaper products with underdoses score lower.
Brand trust
Brand reputation, third-party testing, refund track record, and Trustpilot signal across multiple years.
How the score is computed
Each pillar is weighted by editorial importance. Weights are constant across every brand we audit — they're not adjusted to favour any particular product.
- Ingredient quality25%
- Dosing vs. clinical evidence30%
- Formula transparency20%
- Value for money15%
- Brand trust10%
15,776 verified reviews
We don't embed cherry-picked quotes here. Trustpilot is the canonical source — the score above feeds into our Trust pillar.
Read all 15,776 reviews on Trustpilot →What the vendor’s site says
Quoted word for word from the vendor’s own pages. Terms change, so check them before you buy.
Cancelling a subscription
you can cancel the new order and the subscription by visiting your Account Dashboard
Per onnit.com (opens in new tab), checked
Money-back guarantee
The 30 Day Money Back Guarantee applies to your first-time purchase of any Onnit supplement.
Per help.onnit.com (opens in new tab), checked
Our affiliate cookie
We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Our scores and rankings follow our published methodology; commissions do not influence them.
Buying in the Gulf
- Import pathway
- onnit.com's market list names Bahrain and Oman; shipping to the other GCC states could not be confirmed from the brand's site on 2026-09-29 (its shipping help page was unavailable) -- check at checkout.
Formula per the Supplement Facts on the product page (https://www.onnit.com/products/alpha-brain-90-ct, checked 2026-10-08): per 2 capsules, Vitamin B6 10mg; Onnit Flow Blend 650mg (L-Tyrosine, L-Theanine, Oat straw extract, Phosphatidylserine); Cat's Claw bark extract 350mg; Onnit Focus Blend 240mg (Alpha-GPC, Bacopa extract 100mg, Toothed Clubmoss extract providing Huperzine A 400mcg); Onnit Fuel Blend 60mg (L-Leucine, Pterostilbene). Reference doses are this site's ingredient pages.
Onnit's money-back guarantee is 30 days, for the first purchase of each product bought directly on Onnit.com, refunding the product cost but not shipping (https://help.onnit.com/en-US/30-day-money-back-guarantee-6327406, checked 2026-10-08).
Similar alternatives
Health disclaimer
Dietary supplements sold in Saudi Arabia are regulated by the Saudi Food and Drug Authority (SFDA); in the UAE, general food supplements are regulated by Dubai Municipality while products making medicinal or therapeutic claims require marketing authorisation from the Emirates Drug Establishment (EDE, ede.gov.ae), which now handles drug registrations previously processed through the Ministry of Health and Prevention (MOHAP). GCC consumers preference Halal-certified supplements; capsule shells (gelatin vs HPMC vegetable cellulose) are a meaningful differentiator. We surface Halal-certifying authority where verifiable and never fabricate certifications. This page is editorial, not medical advice. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any supplement.